Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Island Dog Squad Book 1: Sandy's Story
The Island Dog Squad Book 1: Sandy's Story
The Island Dog Squad Book 1: Sandy's Story
Audiobook2 hours

The Island Dog Squad Book 1: Sandy's Story

Written by Deb McEwan

Narrated by Kirsty Dewar

Rating: 0 out of 5 stars


About this audiobook

"I have nothing but the highest of praises to sing for this thought-provoking, tear-jerking tale of torture, death, hope and survival.' Rosie Malezer for Readers’ Favorite – 5 stars

In the depths of despair, she has no idea who, or where she is. Dying of thirst with her ribcage almost poking through her skin, she can barely put one paw in front of the other when she’s rescued from the street.

When Sandy’s people parents take her to her beautiful new homeon the island, she tries to focus on her future, and return the love andkindness showered upon her. Then she meets Lola, Obie and Chip, and the traumatic flashbacks begin.  

As her past slowly unravels, and her memory returns, Sandy must make a choice that will determine her life and her future. What will she decide?

‘The Island Dog Squad’, an animal cozy mystery novella, told by Sandy the rescue dog.

“Anyone who’s had the privilege of sharing their lives with an animal companion will love Sandy’s story ... most highly recommended.” Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite – 5 stars

PublisherDeb McEwan
Release dateJun 21, 2020
The Island Dog Squad Book 1: Sandy's Story

Deb McEwan

Following a career of over thirty years in the British Army, Deb and her husband moved to Cyprus to become weather refugees.  She’s written children's books about Jason the penguin and Barry the reindeer and adult books about aliens, the afterlife, soldiers, and netball players.  The first book in the latest series 'Unlikely Soldiers' is set in nineteen seventies Britain. The second covers the early eighties and includes the Falklands War, service in Northern Ireland and (the former) West Germany. 'Friends and Revenge' is the third in the series, and takes a sinister turn of events.  'Court Out (A Netball Girls' Drama)' is Deb's latest standalone novel. Using netball as an escape from her miserable home life, Marsha Lawson is desperate to keep the past buried and to forge a brighter future. But she’s not the only one with secrets. When two players want revenge, a Tsunami of emotions is released at a tournament leaving destruction in its wake. As the wave starts spreading throughout the team, can Marsha and the others escape its deadly grasp, or will their emotional baggage pull them under, with devastating consequences for their families and team-mates?  'Beyond Possession', book four in the Afterlife series was published in February 2018. It's a fast-paced supernatural thriller involving child possessions, reincarnations and telepathic twins, with angels trying to keep the Devil and his evils at bay.  ‘The Island Dog Squad’ is a series of novellas inspired by the rescue dog Deb and Allan adopted this March. The real Sandy is a sensitive soul, not quite like her fictional namesake, and the other characters are based on Sandy’s real-life mates.  Deb spends her time writing, avoiding housework and playing tour guide. She also tries - and mostly fails - to keep off the pounds.  For a free book or more information visit

Related to The Island Dog Squad Book 1

Titles in the series (3)

View More

Related audiobooks

Cozy Mysteries For You