Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

All Systems Red
All Systems Red
All Systems Red
Audiobook3 hours

All Systems Red

Written by Martha Wells

Narrated by Kevin R Free

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5/5

()

About this audiobook

All Systems Red is the first tense science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld and Ex Machina. All Systems Red by Martha Wells begins The Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and adventure series that tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. It appeals to fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans. In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety. But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern. On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot." Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

Editor's Note

Award winning…

If you like “Westworld” and “Ex Machina,” check out this 2018 Hugo Award winner for Best Novella. A security robot (with a great sense of humor) hacks its own programming to become self-aware and just wants to be left alone. And then everything goes wrong.

LanguageEnglish
Release dateOct 20, 2017
ISBN9781501977824
All Systems Red
Author

Martha Wells

Martha Wells is the author of five previous novels: The Wizard Hunters, the first book of the Fall of Ile-Rien, The Element of Fire, City of Bones, Wheel of the Infinite, and The Death of the Necromancer, which was nominated for the Nebula Award. She lives in College Station, Texas, with her husband.

More audiobooks from Martha Wells

Related to All Systems Red

Titles in the series (14)

View More

Related audiobooks

Science Fiction For You