Historical Fiction

Travel back in time to ancient Egypt, medieval Europe, or Civil War America in immersive tales and historic settings. With a bountiful selection of enthralling narratives, step into bygone eras masterfully brought to life by authors like Umberto Eco and Kate Quinn. Start your adventure today with a Everand subscription.

Travel back in time to ancient Egypt, medieval Europe, or Civil War America in immersive tales and historic settings. With a bountiful selection of enthralling narratives, step into bygone eras masterfully brought to life by authors like Umberto Eco and Kate Quinn. Start your adventure today with a Everand subscription.

Spotlight

We're shining a light on the hottest new releases and binge-worthy books you don't want to miss.
Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel
Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel
Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel
Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel
Audiobook

Mrs. Porter Calling: A Novel

byAJ Pearce

From the author of the bestselling “jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People) Dear Mrs. Bird, a charming and irresistible novel featuring aspiring journalist Emmy Lake as she navigates life, love, and friendship in London during World War II—perfect for fans of The Paris Library and Lessons in Chemistry. London, April 1943. Twenty-five-year-old Emmy Lake is doing her part for the war effort by spearheading the hugely popular “Yours Cheerfully” advice column in Woman’s Friend magazine. The postbags are full, Emmy’s guidance offers much needed support to her readers, and Woman’s Friend is thriving. Cheered on by her best friends Bunty and Thelma, and resolute in the absence of her husband who is fighting in the army, Emmy is dedicated to helping women face the increasing challenges brought about by over three years of war. But Emmy’s world is turned upside down when glamorous socialite, the Honorable Cressida Porter, becomes the new publisher of the magazine, and wants to change everything about it. Aided by Mrs. Pye, a Paris-obsessed editor with delusions of grandeur, and Small Winston, the grumpiest dog in London, Mrs. Porter fills the pages with expensive fashions and frivolous articles about her friends. Worst of all, she announces that she is cutting the advice column. Her vision for the publication’s future is dreadful and Emmy is determined to fight back. Emmy and her friends must save the magazine they love, but when personal tragedy strikes, they are forced to face the very real implications of life in war-torn London. Set in 1943 but inherently resonant with how we live today, Pearce’s signature blend of laugh-out-loud funny and heartbreakingly sad storytelling delivers a tribute to the strength of friendships. An enriching story about women coming together, Pearce’s latest novel is the perfect tonic for our times.

Trending titles

The most talked-about and well-loved Historical Fiction titles this month.

Discover more in Historical Fiction

From classic favorites to brand new hits, it’s all here for you to discover.

Buzzy new favorites

Don't miss the hottest new Historical Fiction releases with our ever-changing selection.