Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Agave Blues
Agave Blues
Agave Blues
Ebook374 pages4 hours

Agave Blues

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars



Currently unavailable

Currently unavailable

About this ebook

Mix together a little family, drama, ghosts, and tequila, and you get a hell of a cocktail!

Sometimes, la sangre atrae, "the blood calls you back," and when Maya gets the call to go back to her agave roots to claim the body of her long-missing father, her world changes forever. Set against the backdrop of her childhood in Mexico, Agave Blues is the story of ailing attorney Maya, in a broken relationship and butting heads with her teenage daughter, Lily.

Maya swore never to return, but once she sets foot on mystical grounds, she uncovers her family's turbulent history and how tequila infuses deep secrets that have altered her life, both emotionally and physically.

She realizes what's missing in her life―magic, mystery, art, unconditional love, and the stories of her past, including the myth her father used to share with her about her grandfather, Pancho Villa. The fields seem to heal her and her relationships, so she extends her stay and reconnects with her family. But when she encounters the handsome yet haunted Antonio, a childhood crush resurfaces, only to cause her more grief as she tries to master the art of tequila.

Ruthie Marlenée is the Mexican-American author of Isabela's Island and Curse of the Ninth and is currently working on the sequel, And Still Her Voice. Marlenée's work can be found in several literary publications. She was born and raised in Orange County, California, and lives in Los Angeles and the desert in the Coachella Valley with her husband.

Release dateFeb 15, 2022

Ruthie Marlenée

Ruthie Marlene is a published novelist, an award-winning screenwriter, ghostwriter and poet. Shes earned a Writers Certificate With Distinction from UCLA and was a nominee for the James Kirkwood Literary Award for her novel Curse of the Ninth. Some of her work can be found in Silver Birch Press, Long Story Short and Los Angeles Poet Laureates Coiled Serpent Anthology. Her novel Agave Blues is coming out soon.

Read more from Ruthie Marlenée

Related to Agave Blues

Related ebooks

Literary Fiction For You