Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Agnès Grey
Agnès Grey
Agnès Grey
Ebook255 pages4 hours

Agnès Grey

Rating: 0 out of 5 stars


Read preview

About this ebook

Agnes Grey est le premier des deux romans de l’écrivain anglais Anne Brontë. Il est publié en 1859. Le roman est fondé sur la propre expérience de l’auteur , décrit la position précaire des gouvernantes et la façon dont les jeunes femmes exerçant cette profession en sont affectées.
| Agnès Grey est la fille du pasteur d’un village du nord de l’Angleterre. Ses parents ayant subi un revers de fortune, Agnès décide de les aider financièrement en occupant l’un des rares emplois permis aux femmes respectables au début de l’ère victorienne : gouvernante d’enfants de riches...|             
Release dateMay 12, 2020
Agnès Grey

Anne Brontë

Anne Brontë (1820-1849) was an English novelist and poet and the youngest of a trio of legendary writers who became known as "the Brontë sisters." Each of the three siblings managed to create novels that would become classics of English literature: Charlotte's "Jane Eyre," Emily's "Wuthering Heights" and Anne's "The Tenant of Wildfell Hall." The youngest of six children born to clergyman Patrick Brontë and his wife Maria, Anne was home-schooled after two of her older sisters died of tuberculosis which they were believed to have acquired while attending the Clergy Daughter's School. The four surviving siblings, Branwell, Emily, Anne and Charlotte, created an imaginary world called "Glass Town," and would each contribute poems, stories and geographical details of this mythical place to help them escape the difficulties and isolation of their childhood and this early, escapist writing would plant the seeds for their later literary success. At the time, the idea of publishing a female author was frowned upon, thus the sisters created a pseudonymous trio of brothers - Currer (Charlotte), Ellis (Emily) and Acton (Anne) Bell - in order to get their books into print. Anne actually completed two full novels during her brief career: "Agnes Grey" and "The Tenant of Wildfell Hall," but the enjoyment of their literary success was short-lived. The family suffered the deaths of Branwell, Emily and Anne in just a few short months in late 1848/early 1949 (the latter two of tuberculosis) and Charlotte herself, while struggling through her first, difficult pregnancy, died in 1854 at the age of thirty-eight. Few families in history have produced as many literary powerhouses as the Brontë sisters and their works have been adapted numerous times for the stage and screen.

Related to Agnès Grey

Related ebooks

Literary Fiction For You