Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Heartmender
Heartmender
Heartmender
Ebook354 pages6 hours

Heartmender

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4/5

()

Read preview

About this ebook

In the land of Barracks, the economy thrives on the barter of their citizens' most precious commodity—a human heart. Each year, the Heart Reign festival is thrown for those who have become of age to trade their heart for their deepest desires. And this year is Adelaide Tye's year to trade.

After despising Heart Reign for years, Addie endures her Extraction and discovers that her heart isn't gray and dying, like all other hearts in Barracks, but bright red, alive, and teeming with power.

With a warning from the extractor of hearts, Addie rushes through Heart Reign to make her choice—trade her heart to Schism, the monster who took her brother years before, or go in search of the Mender—a mythical man said to purify hearts and save her own heart. Either decision will rip her away from the one man who has always been by her side.

Knowing there is only one real choice to make, Addie jumps through Schism's red door and is thrust into a dark and dangerous realm where she is faced with making a trade she may not survive.

For fans of Stephanie Garber's Caraval and ABC's Once Upon a Time.

LanguageEnglish
Release dateSep 3, 2019
ISBN9781948095358
Heartmender
Author

V. Romas Burton

V. Romas Burton grew up bouncing up and down the East Coast where she wrote her first story about magical ponies at age seven. Years later, after studying government and earning an M.A. in Theological Studies, V. Romas Burton realized something even bigger was calling out to her--stories that contained great adventures and encouraging messages. Her debut novel, Heartmender, has won several awards including: First Place in Young Adult for the 2020 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, Second Place in Juvenile/ Young Adult for the 2021 Illumination Book Awards and tied for Third Place for Young Adult Fiction- Fantasy/ Sci- Fi in the 2020 Moonbeam Children's Awards. You can find future updates and news on her website: www.vromasburton.com

Read more from V. Romas Burton

Related to Heartmender

Related ebooks

YA Fantasy For You