Discover millions of ebooks, audiobooks, and so much more with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays
My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays
My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays
Audiobook8 hours

My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Written by Davy Rothbart

Narrated by Davy Rothbart

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4/5

()

About this audiobook

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He's continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it's humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.
But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it's his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

LanguageEnglish
Release dateSep 4, 2012
ISBN9781427225733
Author

Davy Rothbart

Davy Rothbart is the author of the national bestseller Found, and creator of the magazine of the same name. A contributor to public radio's This American Life, he is also the author of the story collection The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Related to My Heart Is an Idiot

Related audiobooks

Humor & Satire For You